Tennis top Grand Slam winners of all-time: Who has won the most titles 2022?

Tennis top Grand Slam winners of all-time: Winning a Grand Slam title is every tennis player’s dream from the day they start swinging their racket.

Despite the difficulty of winning a Grand Slam tournament, many names have dominated the biggest stage over the years.

In the last two decades, in particular, many names have cemented their place in history by winning a record number of Grand Slam titles.

What are the four Grand Slam tournaments?

In order, there are four Grand Slam events held each year: the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open.

The French Open is played on clay, Wimbledon is played on grass and the other two are played on hard courts.

Wimbledon is the oldest Grand Slam event, founded in 1877, followed by the US Open four years later, the French Open in 1891, and the Australian Open in 1905.

Who has won the most Grand Slam titles?

Rafael Nadal and Margaret Court currently hold the record for most Grand Slam titles won in their respective singles fields.

Nadal recently surpassed Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic to become the sole holder of the men’s singles record with his 2022 Australian Open victory. He then extended his lead at the French Open, before Djokovic pulled within one at Wimbledon.

Swiss icon Federer will not have the chance to add to his Grand Slam haul after announcing his retirement after the Lever Cup in September 2022.

Court, meanwhile, looked ready to be caught by Serena Williams but the American has failed to win any of her past four Grand Slam finals.

Most Grand Slam titles won by a player in men’s singles

Rafael Nadal22
Novak Djokovic21
Roger Federer20
Pete Sampras14
Roy Emerson12
Rod Laver11
Bjorn Borg11
Bill Tilden10
Jimmy Connors8
Fred Perry8
Andre Agassi8
Ivan Lendl8
Ken Rosewall8

MostĀ Grand Slam titles won by a player in women’s singles

Margaret Court24
Serena Williams23
Steffi Graf22
Helen Wills19
Chris Evert18
Martina Navratilova18
Billie Jean King12
Maureen Connolly9
Monica Seles9
Suzanne Lenglen8
Molla Mallory8

Who has won all four Grand Slams in the same year?

The term ‘Grand Slam’ actually refers to the achievement of winning all four tournaments in a single year.

Winning one title is hard enough, but winning four straight is extremely difficult.

American Don Budge was the first player to achieve a Grand Slam in 1938, with Australian Rod Lever the only men’s player to repeat the feat.

Maureen Connolly was the first woman to achieve the feat in women’s singles in 1953.

Dylan Alcott was the last player to complete a Grand Slam in 2021 when he did so in wheelchair quad singles.

What is the Golden Slam and who completed it?

If a Grand Slam wasn’t rare enough, a Golden Slam requires players to win four Grand Slam events in the same year, the top Olympic gold.

Steffi Graf was the first woman to complete the Golden Slam in 1988, with only wheelchair players Dede de Groot and Dylan Alcott managing to repeat the feat since then.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button