Pak vs Eng: Action shifts Lahore, Pakistan aiming to continue winning streak

Pak vs Eng: The young men in green will look to maintain their winning streak against England in the fifth match of the seven-match T20 International series today (Wednesday) as the action shifts to Lahore.

The teams will face each other at Gaddafi Stadium today at 7 pm.

The hosts — who leveled the series by wresting the previous match from England’s clutches for their second win of the series — are confident.

The possible return of all-rounder Shadab Khan and fast bowler Naseem Shah was also one of the factors that boosted the squad. However, Naseem Shah has been ruled out of today’s clash as he fell ill and was hospitalized due to a viral infection before the match.

Usman Qadir is likely to be replaced by Shadab.

Although Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Harry Brooke, and Reece Topley all put in incredible performances for England, Pakistan’s star batsman Mohammad Rizwan found his mojo and is now the top scorer in the series.

Harry Brook has been the top scorer for England with a strike rate of 174 while Ben Duckett also has a decent strike rate of 159.

Adil Rashid has been England’s best bowler so far and has taken 4 wickets while bowling at an average of 30 and an economy rate of 8.00.

Conditions may be different on the batting-friendly wickets of Gaddafi Stadium and there will be a dew factor for the other bowling team.

The weather in the city remains unpredictable. Tuesday started with clear skies, but when both teams were scheduled to practice in the evening, the skies opened up and their practice was canceled.

However, meteorologists have predicted that during the next 24 hours, the sky will remain clear and the temperature will remain between 25 and 30 degrees.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Muhammad Rizwan (wicket), Haider Ali, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Muhammad Nawaz, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Durmani, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Haris, Muhammad Waseem Jr., Abrar Ahmed, Aamir Jamal

England: Alex Hales, Philip Salt (wicket), David Mallon, Ben Duckett, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali (c), Sam Curran, David Willey, Luke Wood, Adil Rashid, Richard Gleeson, Liam Dawson, Ollie Stone, Will Jacks, Jordan Cox, Tom Helm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button