Cricket-Rohit, Kohli and Rahul rested for NZ tour, to return for Bangladesh series 2022

Rohit, Kohli and Rahul rested for NZ tour: Indian captain Rohit Sharma and top-order batsmen Virat Kohli and KL Rahul have been rested for the upcoming white-ball tour of New Zealand, but the trio will return for the Bangladesh series, according to Indian selector Chetan Sharma.

India will play three Twenty20 matches and three one-day internationals in New Zealand beginning November 18, with Hardik Pandya captaining the T20s and Shikhar Dhawan captaining the 50-over games.

The rested batting trio will return to the squad when India visits Bangladesh in December for three one-day internationals and two test matches. India is currently competing in the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Sharma stated that India’s injured fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will not be risked in the Bangladesh test series in order to have him fully fit before Australia visits India early next year.

Due to a flare-up of a back injury, Bumrah was unable to make the World Cup squad.

“The NCA (National Cricket Academy) medical team is taking excellent care of him; he’ll definitely play against Australia, but we’re being cautious about the Bangladesh tour,” Sharma said.


Hardik Pandya (captain), Rishabh Pant (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Rishabh Pant (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar


Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal, Deepak Chahar,Shardul Thakur, Shikhar Dhawan


Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur

(Reporting by Rohith Nair in Bengaluru; Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button