Carabao Cup 2nd round fixtures: Dates, times, results, teams, and pairings after 2022/23 League Cup draw 2022

Carabao Cup 2nd round fixtures: The 2022/23 Carabao Cup is in its second round with a total of 25 matches taking place between Tuesday and Wednesday, August 23-24.

The second round is the stage where the 13 Premier League clubs not involved in European Cup competitions enter the tournament, and so far 9 out of 10 have reached the third round. Fulham was the only top-flight club to go out in the first leg after fielding a reserve side against League Two club Crawley Town and paying the price.

Two other Premier League sides needed penalty kicks to see off lower division opposition. Leicester City needed a shootout to get past League Two’s Stockport County, and Bournemouth advanced against Norwich City via spot-kicks.

Below are all the results with available highlights. The final four matches of the round will be in action on Wednesday with Newcastle United, Leeds United, and Brighton all featuring in Premier League matches on Sunday.

Carabao Cup 2nd round matches

DateMatchTime (BST / ET)
Tue. Aug 23Walsall 0, Charlton Athletic 1HIGHLIGHTS
Tue. Aug 23Sheffield Wednesday 3, Rochdale 0HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Shrewsbury 0, Burnley 1HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Bolton 1, Aston Villa 4HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Derby County 1, West Brom 0HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Wolves 2, Preston North End 1HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Fleetwood 0, Everton 1HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Rotherham 0, Morecambe 1HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Barrow 2, Lincoln City 2(Lincoln advance 3-1 on PKs)HIGHLIGHTS
, Aug 23Stockport County 0, Leicester City 0(Leicester advance 3-1 on PKs)HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Bradford City 1, Blackburn 2HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Grimbsy Town 0, Nottingham Forest 3HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Stevenage 1, Peterborough 0HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Norwich City 2, Bournemouth 2(Bournemouth advance 5-3 on PKs)HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Newport County 3, Portsmouth 2HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Oxford United 0, Crystal Palace 2HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Watford 0, MK Dons 2HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Colchester 0, Brentford 2HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Crawley 2, Fulham 0HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Cambridge 0, Southampton 3HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, Aug 23Gillingham 0, Exeter 0(Gillingham advanced 6-5 on PKs)HIGHLIGHTS
Wed, Aug 24Leeds United vs. Barnsley19:45 / 14:45
Wed, Aug 24Tranmere Rovers vs. Newcastle United19:45 / 14:45
Wed, Aug 24Wycombe vs. Bristol City19:45 / 14:45
Wed, Aug 24Forest Green Rovers vs. Brighton19:45 / 14:45

Carabao Cup Second Round Draw Details

Although there was still one match of the first round to be played, the draw for the second round took place on Wednesday 10 August.

Sky Sports drew at the end of the televised match Sheffield Wednesday vs Sunderland.

Each club was represented by a number during the draw. The first club was designated as the host of each matchup according to each tournament’s guidelines.

Teams in Carabao Cup second-round draw

The field for the second round of the Carabao Cup is 50 teams.

The 35 first-round winners included 13 Premier League clubs that did not qualify for European Cup competitions, and last season’s 18th- (Burnley) and 19th-placed Premier League finishers (Watford).

Here are the 50 clubs in the second round:

No. of clubsClubs qualified
Prem. League13Aston Villa, Bournemouth, Brentford, Brighton, Crystal Palace, Everton, Fulham, Leeds, Leicester, Newcastle, Nott’m Forest, Southampton, Wolves
Championship8Blackburn, Bristol City, Burnley, Norwich City, Preston North End, Rotherham, Watford, West Brom
League One17Barnsley, Bolton, Cambridge, Charlton, Derby, Exeter, Fleetwood, Forest Green, Lincoln City, MK Dons, Morecambe, Oxford, Peterborough, Portsmouth, Sheffield Wednesday, Shrewsbury, Wycombe
League Two12Barrow, Bradford, Colchester, Crawley, Gillingham, Grimsby, Newport, Rochdale, Stevenage, Stockport, Tranmere, Walsall

All 50 teams were assigned numbers for draw purposes as described below.

The 50 clubs are grouped by region to guarantee travel-friendly matchups in the early rounds of the competition and through to the third round. Clubs can only be drawn against another club in the same area.

North RegionSouth Region
1 – Aston Villa1 – Bournemouth
2 – Barrow2 – Brentford
3.- Bolton Wanderers3 – Brighton & Hove Albion
4 – Bradford City4 – Cambridge United
5 – Burnley5 – Charlton Athletic
6 – Derby County– Colchester United
7 – Everton7 – Crawley Town
8 – Fleetwood Town8 – Crystal Palace
9 – Grimsby Town9 – Exeter City
10 – Leeds United10 – Forest Green Rovers
11 – Leicester City11 – Fulham
12 – Lincoln City12 – Gillingham
13 – Morecambe13 – MK Dons
14 – Newcastle United14 – Newport County
15 – Nottingham Forest15 – Norwich City
16 – Preston North End16 – Oxford United
17 – Rochdale17 – Portsmouth
18 – Shrewsbury Town18 – Southampton
19 – Stockport County19 – Stevenage
20 – Tranmere Rovers20 – Walsall
21 – Wolverhampton Wanderers21 – Watford
22 – Blackburn22 – Wycombe Wanderers
23 – Barnsley23 – Bristol City
24 – Rotherham24 – Peterborough
25 – Sheffield Wednesday
26 – West Brom

Carabao Cup Second Round Dates

The second-round matches are being held between Tuesday, August 23, and Wednesday, August 24. As in the first round, only selected matches will be carried by broadcasters around the world:

Bolton Wanderers v Aston Villa
Fleetwood Town vs Everton
Tranmere Rovers v Newcastle United
After the second round ends in August, the next set of Carabao Cup matches will come just before the World Cup break in November.

Carabao Cup Dates 2022/23
First round: August 9-11
Second round: August 23-25
Third round (Rd of 32): November 8-10
Fourth Round (Rd of 16): December 20-22
Quarter-finals: January 10-12
Semifinals: Jan. 24-26 (League 1), Jan. 31-Feb. 2 (leg 2)
Final: Sunday, February 26

Is there extra time in the second round of the Carabao Cup?

The second round will unfold similar to the previous round with single elimination knockout round matches that must have one winner on the night.

But if the teams are level after 90 minutes, they will go straight to penalty kicks in the second round. Extra time does not come into play until the two-legged semi-final stage. There, if the clubs are level on aggregate at the end of the second leg of the semi-finals, they will play 30 minutes of extra time. If no winner emerges during extra time, a penalty kick shootout will decide the winner of the semi-finals.

The tournament final at Wembley Stadium will also feature extra time and penalty kicks if necessary. Both were played during the Liverpool v Chelsea final in the latest edition, where a penalty shootout saw goalkeepers score tries as the shootout ended 11-10 in Liverpool’s favor.

How to watch Carabao Cup on TV, live stream

TV channelSky SportsbeIN Sports
StreamingSky Go, NOW TVESPN+DAZNbeIN Connect, Kayo Sports

UK: Sky Sports is the exclusive broadcaster of the Carabao Cup in the UK.

USA: The Carabao Cup is home to the ESPN streaming platform ESPN+ USA. Selected matches from the preliminary rounds are available to stream, followed by all matches from the round of 16 to the final.

Canada: DAZN has the right to broadcast the Carabao Cup in Canada with select matches from the preliminary rounds.

Australia: The Carabao Cup broadcaster for fans in Australia is beIN Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button