Champions League top goal scorers 2022/23: Updated golden boot rankings 2022

Champions League top goal scorers 2022/23: It’s already shaping up to be Kylian Mbappe vs. Erling Haaland for the UEFA Champions League Golden Boot.

The two young stars — Mbappe is 23 and Haaland is 22 — both scored twice in their first Champions League group match of 2022/23, leading their respective clubs to victory.

Joining him on the scoring charts is a surprising name: Shakhtar Donetsk’s Marian Shevid. The 25-year-old Ukrainian winger scored twice in Shakhtar’s win at RB Leipzig.

There are eight more matches to be played in the opening round of group matches with another Golden Boot candidate, Robert Lewandowski, starting his campaign in new Barcelona colors against Viktoria Plzen. This home match could be his best chance to score as Bayern Munich and Inter Milan are also in Barcelona’s group.

The table below is updated after each round of matches starting from the group stage. Assists are used as the first tiebreaker, and the second tiebreaker is played in the shortest number of minutes. Both top scorers conform to the tiebreakers implemented by the European governing body UEFA for the European Championship.

Champions League Top Scorers 2022/23

Updated as of Tuesday, Sept. 6, 2022

1.Marian ShvedShakhtar Donetsk2 (0)0162
Erling HaalandManchester City2 (0)0170
Kylian MbappePSG2 (0)0190
4.Mykhaylo MudrykShakhtar Donetsk1 (0)2190
Eden HazardReal Madrid1 (0)1160
Phil FodenManchester City1 (0)1170
Alex GrimaldoBenfica1 (0)1190
Lassina TraoreShakhtar Donetsk1 (0)0120
Weston McKennieJuventus1 (0)0145
Mislav OrsicDinamo Zagreb1 (0)0176
Rafa SilvaBenfica1 (0)0179
Luka ModricReal Madrid1 (0)0180
Alexis SaelemaekersAC Milan1 (0)0180
Vinicius Jr.Real Madrid1 (0)0180
Raphael GuerreiroBorussia Dortmund1 (0)0186
Marco ReusBorussia Dortmund1 (0)0186
Noah OkaforRB Salzburg1 (0)0189
Jude BellinghamBorussia Dortmund1 (0)0190
Ruben DiasManchester City1 (0)0190
Mohamed SimakanRB Leipzig1 (0)0190

Champions League Golden Boot 2021/22

Karim Benzema takes the 2021-22 Champions League scoring crown. He did not score in the final against Liverpool but did enough damage in the previous knockout rounds to score 15 goals, two better than Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski, but less than Cristiano Ronaldo’s single-season haul of 17. (2013/14) ).

Benzema, who also won the scoring race in La Liga with 27 goals, had a magical season in the Champions League, leading Real Madrid to the final with his goals. His three goals against Man City in the semi-final were crucial, and in the quarter-final, Benzema silenced Chelsea’s home crowd with his first league hat-trick, and then struck the winner in extra time in the second leg.

1.Karim BenzemaReal Madrid15 (3)1121106
2.Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich13 (3)310876
3.Sebastien HallerAjax11 (1)18668
4.Mohamed SalahLiverpool8 (1)2131008
5.Riyad MahrezMan City7 (2)212986
Christopher NkunkuRB Leipzig7 (0)06531
7.Leroy SaneBayern Munich6 (0)610798
Kylian MbappePSG6 (0)48673
Arnaut DanjumaVillarreal CF6 (1)211906
Cristiano RonaldoMan United6 (0)07611
Darwin NunezBenfica6 (1)010613
12.RodrygoReal Madrid5 (0)211505
Sadio ManeLiverpool5 (0)113822
Roberto FirminoLiverpool5 (0)07323
Lionel MessiPSG5 (2)07630
16.Vinicius JuniorReal Madrid4 (0)6131199
Thomas MullerBayern Munich4 (0)310778
Timo WernerChelsea4 (0)25246
Pedro GoncalvesSporting CP4 (1)25329
Antoine GriezmannAtletico Madrid4 (0)29518
Gabriel JesusMan City4 (0)18352
Luis DiazLiverpool/Porto4 (0)113908
  • 3 goals: 20 players
  • 2 goals: 30 players
  • 1 goal: 111 players

Champions League Top Scorers (since 1992-93)

Here are the top scorers in each UEFA Champions League tournament since the new format was introduced in 1992-93.

It’s no surprise who the players who have topped the list on most occasions are: Cristiano Ronaldo has led the chart seven times and Messi six times. Their dominant run has spanned the last 15 editions of the Champions League, although neither has won the title in the last three campaigns.

2021-22Karim BenzemaReal Madrid15
2020-21Erling HaalandB. Dortmund10
2019-20Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich15
2018-19Lionel MessiBarcelona12
2017-18Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid15
2016-17Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid12
2015-16Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid16
2014-15Lionel MessiBarcelona10
Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid10
2013-14Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid17
2012-13Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid12
2011-12Lionel MessiBarcelona14
2010-11Lionel MessiBarcelona12
2009-10Lionel MessiBarcelona8
2008-09Lionel MessiBarcelona9
2007-08Cristiano RonaldoMan United8
2006-07KakaAC Milan10
2005-06Andriy ShevchenkoAC Milan9
2004-05Ruud van NistelrooyMan United8
2003-04Fernando MorientesAS Monaco9
2002-03Ruud van NistelrooyMan United12
2001-02Ruud van NistelrooyMan United10
2000-01Raul GonzalezReal Madrid7
1999-00Mario JardelPorto10
Raul GonzalezReal Madrid10
1998-99Andriy ShevchenkoDynamo Kyiv8
Dwight YorkeMan United8
1997-98Alessandro Del PieroJuventus10
1996-97Milinko PanticAtletico Madrid5
1995-96Jari LitmanenAjax9
1994-95George WeahPSG7
1993-94Hristo StoichkovBarcelona5
1992-93Franck SauzeeMarseille5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button