What can England expect after winning the Euro final 2022 at the Women’s World Cup 2023?

Women’s World Cup 2023: The Women’s World Cup will go downhill next year as the FIFA showpiece returns for its ninth edition. With excitement levels at a fever pitch following Women’s Euro 2022 – which saw England beat Germany at a packed Wembley – the return of the global competition will keep fans enthralled, especially with the world’s top women on the show. With footballers.

Women’s World Cup 2023

The tournament will be bigger and better than ever with the number of participating teams increasing from 24 (in 2019) to 32 for the first time, reflecting the increased popularity and growth enjoyed by the women’s game.

In another first, the 2023 tournament will be the first to be held jointly by the two countries. Read all about it – and more – below.


The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be held from July 20 to August 20, 2023. Scroll down for more information, but reports suggest the tournament could follow the men’s lead and move beyond its traditional summer slot to be canceled by FIFA.

Read More About: As a result of Liverpool’s draw against Palace, Carragher identifies three ‘problems’

Where is this?

The tournament will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, who secured the vote by defeating Colombia. Venues include venues that will be well known to rugby fans, such as Eden Park (Auckland), Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane), and Stadium Australia (Sydney).

Which teams qualified?

England has yet to qualify for the tournament, with two matches remaining in their qualifying group. However, the Lionesses currently top their group table and will play the remaining fixtures in early September.

Neither the Republic of Ireland nor Wales qualifies automatically but they are both still in with a chance of securing a place in the playoffs. Scotland is guaranteed a place in the play-offs, which take place in October.

The following teams have already qualified for the main tournament: Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, China PR, Philippines, Vietnam, Sweden, Spain, France, Denmark, United States, Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Zambia, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Colombia, Brazil.

How to see

Broadcast rights for the tournament have not yet been announced but the 2019 edition was shown exclusively by the BBC.

How to get tickets

Tickets go on sale from October 6 – available from just $20 AUD/NZD for adults and $10 AUD/NZD for children – but fans can register their interest on the tournament’s official website.

Who are the defending champions?

The U.S. is the defending champion after defeating the Netherlands in Lyon in 2019.

How did England do first?

England has qualified for the Women’s World Cup five times. They have reached the quarter-finals three times and the semi-finals twice, most recently in 2019 when they were knocked out by eventual winners in the US.

With less than a year to go until the tournament kicks off in Australia and New Zealand, organizers are insisting there will be no changes to the 2023 Women’s World Cup dates after it emerged that There were informal talks about delaying next summer’s tournament. for a few months.

Telegraph Sport understands that, as revealed by L’Equipe, senior officials at world governing body FIFA are understood to have informally floated the idea of ​​rescheduling the event in talks as recently as a fortnight ago. and have done

Three separate sources from Europe’s three major national associations have confirmed that they have been approached about the feasibility of moving the event to October or November instead of the current schedule of July 20 to August 20. However, all of these sources stressed that the idea was never a formal proposal, and was of the opinion that it was too late to reschedule the competition, which is the world’s largest in a calendar year. is the most watched sporting event. 2023.

Changes in dates will no longer be entertained.

On Friday morning, a FIFA spokesperson told Telegraph Sport: “Following a successful ‘go for a year’ event, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is set to kick off on 20 July 2023. Any changes to competition dates are expected.” do not have. “

Similarly, statements from the national FAs of co-hosts Australia and New Zealand both said they were not expecting any changes, with the New Zealand FA adding: “Our preparations are for the match to take place at Eden Park on 20 July 2023. They are on for the start of the tournament.”

The men’s World Cup later this year was rescheduled from the traditional June-July dates of 21 November to 18 December 2022, in a decision made in 2018, to make it the hottest venue in the Middle East. Not to be played in areas. temperature

The weather was also cited by one source as a reason informal talks were being held about possibly moving the 2023 women’s event, which will take place in the winter under the host nations. Others said the issue was related to concerns raised by a small number of international broadcasters that the August dates were unsuitable for the tournament,

soon after some broadcast rights were put out to tender. However, Telegraph Sport understands that negotiations have already been made for a number of broadcast rights elsewhere around the world for the 2019 World Cup.

The topic of the international women’s calendar is currently the subject of much debate, with the schedule for international windows not yet fully confirmed until late 2023. One date in the diary for 2024 is the Olympics, in which women’s soccer teams can field their own strong,

senior teams as opposed to men’s teams, and it was announced on Thursday that, for the first time in the history of soccer competition at the Olympics, The women’s gold medal match will conclude the event in Paris instead of the men’s. . The Olympic football tournament will continue from July 24 to August 10, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button