Inaugural Big Bash League draft(BBL): Liam Livingstone is drafted first

England all-rounder Liam Livingstone was the first pick of the inaugural Big Bash League draft as he was signed by the Melbourne Renegades. England wicketkeeper Sam Billings was picked by Brisbane Heat, seamer Chris Jordan by Sydney Sixers, and all-rounder David Wiley by Sydney Thunder.

Livingstone’s signing came on the day he was ruled out of the rest of The Hundred with an ankle injury.

Nottinghamshire batsman Sol Budinger has replaced him at Birmingham Phoenix.

The 11th edition of the BBL will run from December 13 to February 4 and will feature an overseas player draft for the first time.

Surrey batsman Laurie Evans, a man of the match for his unbeaten 76 in this year’s final, was retained by defending champions Perth Scorchers in the second round of the draft.

Melbourne Stars signed Nottinghamshire batsman Joe Clarke, while England batsman James Vince – who has won the competition twice – stayed with the Sixers, and former England opener Alex Hales was recruited by the Thunder.

England batsman Phil Salt was picked up by the Scorchers, Adelaide Strikers signed Warwickshire batsman Adam Hoes and Lancashire seamer Luke Wood joined the Stars in the third round.

England pacer Timmill Mills was signed by the Scorchers as the final pick, while the Heat drafted Hampshire batsman Ross Whitley.

The Stars, who tried to sign Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan before the Strikers opted to retain him, opted instead for New Zealand pacer Trent Boult.

Lancashire’s Livingstone was part of the Scorchers side that reached the final in 2020-21 but did not play in the 2021-22 edition due to Covid-19 restrictions and England commitments.

In all, 24 foreign players were signed out of the 332 who put themselves forward for the draft, along with West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell and former South Africa captain Faf du Plessis.

Inaugural Big Bash League draft: Liam Livingstone is drafted first

BBL Draft signings

Melbourne Renegades: Liam Livingstone (1), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (9), Akela Hosein (25).

Melbourne Stars: Trent Boult (3), Joe Clarke (10), Luke Wood (23).

Brisbane Heat: Sam Billings (4), Colin Munro (11), Ross Whiteley (27).

Sydney Sixers: Chris Jordan (5), James Vince (13), Izharulhaq Naveed (28).

Adelaide Strikers: Rashid Khan (2), Colin de Grandhomme (14), Adam Hose (19).

Perth Scorchers: Laurie Evans (12), Phil Salt (18), Tymal Mills (30).

Sydney Thunder: David Willey (7), Alex Hales (15), Rilee Rossouw (18).

Hobart Hurricanes: Shadab Khan (8), Asif Ali (16), Faheem Ashraf (17).

Who is the winner of BBL 2022?

Perth Scorchers
The Perth Scorchers won the title for the fourth time after defeating the defending champions Sydney Sixers by 79 runs in the final. On 8 November 2021, Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed that the opening round of the BBL First Nations would be played between 8 and 14 January 2022.

Is Big Bash League better than IPL?

The BBL consists of eight teams from 6 different cities in Australia, and each team plays two matches against other teams in the league stage. One home game and one away game. The IPL features the best cricketers from around the world, and team squads consist of 18 to 25 players, with a maximum of 8 foreign players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button