Sri Lanka win its sixth Asia Cup title by beating Pakistan in the final

In the final of the Asia Cup held in Dubai, Sri Lanka won an unexpected sixth title by defeating Pakistan by 23 runs. Sri Lanka posted 170-6 in their 20 overs, led by Bhanuka Rajapaksa’s unbeaten 71 off 45 balls. In Pakistan’s reply, Mohammad Rizwan scored 55 runs but Pramod Madhushan took 4-34 to end their hopes.


The win is a major turnaround for Sri Lanka, who were coached by former England coach Chris Silverwood after losing their opening match to Afghanistan.

Victory looked unlikely when Sri Lanka slipped to 58-5 before Rajapakse and Venendu Hasaranga came together.

Sri Lanka win its sixth Asia Cup titles by beating Pakistan in the final

They added 58 runs for the sixth wicket after Hasringa’s 21-ball 36 took them to a difficult total.


Fast bowler Haris Rauf led Pakistan’s bowling attack with 3-29.

Despite Rizwan’s efforts, the Sri Lankan bowlers took successive wickets from Pakistan to limit their score.

Seemer Madhushan picked up three top-order wickets in quick succession, while leg-spinner Hasringa produced a fine all-round performance with figures of 3-27.

“Always was confident the team had talent, we just needed a way,” Silverwood said.

“We worked hard and the results are coming. Our young seven attacks were outstanding, but it was a team effort.”

Only India has won more Asia Cup titles than Sri Lanka with seven victories.

Pre-tournament favorites India failed to reach the final after losing to Sri Lanka and Pakistan in the Super Four stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button